What are the hallmarks of your hallway?

Favorite Turkish rug

My favorite rug in the store, but not a runner. This one is 11’6′ by 5′

I know that seems like a strange question to ask. But there is some context involved.

We’ve been discussing Turkish rugs at the store. And much of the talk lately has been directed towards runners, rather than area rugs. I want the bright, colorful rugs that probably don’t go with anything anyone else would have in their decor. Because I’m the last person on earth you want deciding what goes with what in your home.

small turkish rug

Also not a runner, but you can see the kinds of color I’m drawn to.

Turns out, I know nothing about rugs and Chicago. Those I would have ordered, I’m told are too wide for “Chicago hallways.” Chicago’s hallways tend to be less than 3 feet wide, they say. Is this true? I need to know.

I need you to measure your hallways, Chicago. Width is the important criteria, but send me length, too. I want to know if there are wide open spaces in this city that need covered in bright, beautiful colors.

Leave a Reply

