A “Hawaii: It Was Only A Matter Of Time” post

Maui Crane

Yes, at great risk to my iPhone, I took a picture of construction cranes and beach from the ocean.

I have no reasonable explanation as to why I haven’t written anything here about Hawaii. Perhaps because we were overwhelmed by it. Maybe because I haven’t been able to sort through the billions of pictures I took to find the most-compelling.┬áBut I gotta start somewhere.

I wrote the post below about the Westin Nanea Ocean Villas coming to Maui for Chicago Architecture as soon as we got home. It’s on our as-yet very long list of places we wouldn’t mind retiring to. Before you judge me and my honeymoon priorities, know that it only took me about an hour to get these photos, and no wife of mine was neglected during this time. Heck, she was on the beach. I could have been gone for 3 days and she wouldn’t have noticed.

I mentioned Hawaii being overwhelming. It is. We saw a fraction of the islands, and left feeling like we had barely scratched the surface. We weren’t yet on a plane back to the mainland and were already scheming ways to return. And return we will.

In this space, over the next few weeks, I’ll do my best to share our experiences with you, and hopefully convey our urgent need to get back to Hawaii. Soon. And often.

http://www.chicagoarchitecture.org/2015/12/14/slice-of-the-easy-life-westin-building-maui-paradise-resort/

 

Leave a Reply

