On Empire Avenue and Endorsements

Empire Avenue members: What does endorsing a blog mean to you?

One of the easiest ways to interact with each other on EA is the blog endorsement. Until 5 of us are willing to acknowledge your musings and ramblings, the Ave won’t even recognize it as official. But I have to say, I’m a little perturbed at how this is being done.

Having a blog doesn’t make me a writer, anymore than having a bat and glove makes me a baseball player.  Every now and then, I get a thought in my head that I need to put in font, in the event that someone else out there might ever stumble upon it and think “hmm, that’s a good point”. I have no formal training, certainly no journalistic education, and the typing skills of a free-range chicken. It is something I do for fun. Not as often as I want to, but as often as I think I have something to say.

I have three blogs. In addition to the one you’re reading now, I also have a blog about running, and a blog about food. Now, I know the world isn’t clamoring for more cooking or exercise blogs, so I do what I can to differentiate mine from the crowd’s. I use two different forums; WordPress, and Tumblr. I’m not in love with Tumblr, and may eventually move the whole thing over to WordPress. Why? Stats. As a newbie to writing, it still thrills me to see by my WordPress stats that someone has read my stuff today.

Sorry, I’ve rambled. Here’s my point: Are people even looking at blogs before giving them their endorsement? I get blog endorsements on a daily basis, and I appreciate them. But I look at my stats and see no one has read anything. No one has even bothered to open my blog. Conversely, I click on other folks’ blogs, and it isn’t unusual to find links that don’t work. Yet I see a multitude of shareholders have endorsed those links. Why? For the sake of “interaction”?

Let’s be honest. None of us has time to read every blog, every link, that interests us. There are too many billions of them. But what I do have time for is to open every blog before I give my endorsement. Because, just as my blogs aren’t for everyone, not all of everyone’s blogs are for me. If a link doesn’t work, I won’t give it my approval. If the material is objectionable to my conservative Christian views, it doesn’t get my thumbs up. That doesn’t mean your blog isn’t well-written, or that you don’t have anything worthwhile to say.

I will endorse your blog because I like your blog, and I want others to know that I like your blog, and they should check it out too. Not because I need to feed the mysterious formula EA uses to rate our activity. Not because I want to interact with you. There are lots of other ways to do that. Blog endorsements are about my willingness to vouch for what you’ve written. Period. If you don’t like my blog/blogs, I don’t expect your endorsement. Heck, I don’t even want it. You have the right to make that decision. And I respect it.

That seems fair, doesn’t it?

3 thoughts on “On Empire Avenue and Endorsements

  1. Usually I read them and nod in agreement. I didn’t know that I was supposed to endorse them. I just tried to “like” one but don’t have a WordPress account. So that may be the next thing to do. Will that make me a writer? Or just another chicken?

Leave a Reply

