So. We’re rebuilding.

The trading of Sean Marshall reportedly begins the tearing down and reconstructing of the Cubs. Sean took the ball like the consummate professional for 6 seasons in Chicago. Never complaining about his role, never sulking in the pen. He pitched, and pitched well.

I am not a forward-looking Cub fan. I don’t have the ability to see the long-term effects of losing or trading my favorite players. I can’t quote statistics that tell what a guy is worth. I don’t want to hear about WAR (what is it good for? Seriously. I have no idea what it means.) I don’t study players from other teams to the point that I know who we might like to have in the future, and who we don’t. But I do know when I hate a trade. And I hate this one. Maybe it’s in the best interest of the team, but I’m not the type to think that way. I like my players, not theirs.

I know where this is leading. The people arguing for this move, the stat heads, the Baseball Prospectus crowd, they’ll go on and on about the merits of this deal. How, three years from now, when Sean Marshall is pitching 3 innings per week and this new guy is all young and easier to sign, this will be the right move for the Cubs. And that’s all well and good. Just do me a favor; If you’re in favor of trades like this, if you’re for the rebuilding,  don’t whine and moan about how bad the Cubs play during the process. Don’t cheer for the tear down, yet still criticize the team on the field. You can’t have it both ways.

Goodbye Sean. I won’t root against you, except for when you play against us. But you’re a Red now, so I can’t cheer for you either. Thank you for being a great Cub. And sorry about that whole “Once a Cub, always a Cub” thing. No one can escape that.

5 thoughts on “So. We’re rebuilding.

  1. For the record, I’ve been for this organization rebuilding for nearly as long as I’ve been a fan. It’s something this organization has never done and throughout the last 30 years there have been many opportunities wasted. I couldn’t care less if they win 1 game next year. I’m excited that they’re finally trying to rebuild an organization that has so much wrong with it. The process will be long. They’ll be pretty bad for at least 3 to 5 years and then hopefully we’ll see some progress at that point. They have no farm system and that’s going to take at least a few years to develop and a couple more years to begin producing talent. I’m not sure most Cubs fans realize just how bad this team is going to be and for how long. I’m positive they will be tired of it by this time next year and that’s unfortunate.

    • I can’t disagree with anything you’ve said. When the Cubs are miserable, and that’s been fairly common in my 41 years of being a fan, I can still find reasons to root for them. Usually, that means individuals. Sean Marshall is one of those individuals. And I’ll find new guys to become my favorites, like I have every year.

      I am, no doubt, one of the emotional-type fans. And to me, that’s what being a fan is. I have no financial stake in any team. I certainly don’t get a ring or a bonus when trophies are won. When they win, I do a little dance. When they lose, I sulk and kick stuff. The day I don’t feel some level of emotional attachment to my teams and players is they day I’ve lost interest in following them (looking at you, 76-ers)

  2. FWIW, I think it’s the other group of fans that want it both ways. Those in favor of using stats to analyze the game do just that. Those who complain endlessly let their emotions get in the way of analysis. I’m not sure why you think it’s the other way around. Care to explain?

    • Not saying it’s the other way around. My point is, as long as we approve of sending away proven talent for inexperienced prospects, don’t complain when we’re playing .400 baseball that we have nothing but inexperienced players on the field.

      • Fair enough, but I think you may be missing the larger point here. It’s not that the Cubs traded a valuable reliever for prospects, they traded a reliever who throws 70 innings for prospects. Any time you have a non-Mariano Rivera reliever worth much in a trade you should take it. Relievers simply aren’t that valuable because of the number of innings they pitch. Furthermore, a very good reliever can have a very bad season because the sample size is way too small to represent his true talent level.

        The new front office will take advantage of this. They did so in Boston and Hoyer did just that in San Diego.

        The Cubs will be bad in 2012, but it will have nothing to do with the absence of Sean Marshall. They were bad in 2010 and 2011 and that was with Sean marshall’s two best seasons. They’re bad because they have no offense, their defense is pretty bad and they’re atrocious on the bases. Sean Marshal can’t fix that.

Leave a Reply

