Grammarant for Dec 20

I know why we write so poorly. We’re simply putting into font what we say and hear everyday. But I hope I’m not alone in thinking it looks horrendous in print.

Would’ve. Could’ve. Should’ve. Common contractions for would have, could have, and should have.

Never should they be written as “would of”, “should of”, and “could of”! Seriously people, we’re ruining our own language. I can live with shoulda, coulda, and woulda. At least that makes it look like you understand the short cut you’re taking.  Thousands of years from now, archaeologists will find our ancient writings and think “no wonder they’re dead”. I know. I’m shaking my head too.

Leave a Reply

