Cubs Management Pre-101

The Cubs need a new manager. Again. Mike Quade successfully broke the pattern of 3-year tenures by crashing and burning his under-achieving 25 guys in less than one season.

So who’s next? There seem to be close to a dozen names floating around the greater Greater Chicago area (get it? Let’s be honest, Cubs territory covers a lot more of the city than that other team’s), in addition to the sentimental favorites that pop up every time there’s an opening a notch or so above hot dog vendor. So who do I want the next manager of the Cubs to be for the next 3 years,  plus another half season of lame duckedness?

I. Don’t. Care. Really, I don’t. Bad fan, good fan, whatever that makes me, I refuse to get caught up in this process. There are (at least, there better be) people much more qualified to make this decision than I. But I will say this: I like that we have new blood in the front office. I like that Theo Epstein isn’t likely to play to the hearts of those who would bring back every former Cub in some capacity. We don’t need Peanuts Lowrey managing the concession stands, or Dennis Lamp to be in charge of the lighting.

I want Theo and his team of nerdy-smart baseball people to pick the right candidate for the job. I don’t know who that is. Frankly, I don’t know enough about baseball to pick a manager. Most fans don’t. Thankfully, Mr. Epstein & Co. do. I trust the new brain trust enough to believe whomever they choose is the right man for the job.

Leave a Reply

