Part III.2 Wrigley Field

I’m getting a little bit ahead of myself, but I really felt the need to write this part tonight.

Now and then, if you’re watching a Cubs telecast, the camera will zoom in on an elderly couple sitting in the good seats. Len Kasper will introduce them as Jimmy and Eleanor Farrell. When you hear Len gush about how nice they are, listen to him. It isn’t hyperbole. Jimmy Farrell was the umpire room attendant at Wrigley Field when I was working for the courier company. He retired in 2007 at age 86. And he is, indeed, one of the nicest, most pleasant people to be around, that I’ve ever known.

So I’ll relieve you of the suspense. George Brett. Remember? What do we have in common? I mentioned it in my post “Under Wrigley”. Well, here it is:

We’ve both been kicked out by Tim McClelland. Think pine tar.

We’ll be back after this…

One thought on “Part III.2 Wrigley Field

Leave a Reply

